About The Sequels

Who was David McLean? A loving grandfather?
A spy? Or a traitor?

Just months after the events in the original Seven (the series), a shocking discovery about their grandfather’s secret past launches seven grandsons into seven brand new adventures across the globe. Bestselling authors Eric Walters, John Wilson, Ted Staunton, Richard Scrimger, Norah McClintock, Sigmund Brouwer and Shane Peacock return with seven compelling linked novels that can be read in any order, and independent of the original Seven.

"This unusual series features seven books that are connected but can stand alone as individual adventures. Building upon a plot line first laid out in the “Seven” series (Orca, 2012), each entry follows one of David McLean’s seven grandsons as he embarks on a dangerous mission in a far flung locale, as per instructions in Grandpa McLean’s oddball will…This thrill-a-minute series will hook reluctant readers as well as fans of James Bond and Jason Bourne." —School Library Journal, September 2014

7 Grandsons. 7 New Missions. 7 Authors.

1 extraordinary set of sequels

The Original Seven

Seven (the series) began with Eric Walters and his passion for bringing great stories to kids.

Eric asked six other well-known Canadian children’s authors to each contribute a novel to a series of seven linked books. The stories would be connected by a grandfather’s love of his seven grandsons. Eric and the other authors–John Wilson, Ted Staunton, Richard Scrimger, Norah McClintock, Sigmund Brouwer and Shane Peacock–bring their signature styles to a series of adventures that can be read in any order.

Read more about Seven (the series)

"Readers can look forward to Richard Scrimger's sense of humor, Norah McClintock's sense of mystery, John Wilson's take on history, Shane Peacock's dark plotting, Eric Walters' character-building challenges, Ted Staunton's musicality, and Sigmund Brouwer's problem-solving strategies to enrich the tales. Definitely a series for all readers"
-CanLit for Little Canadians blog